• Home
  • /Guide to Massachusetts Marijuana Laws

Guide to Massachusetts Marijuana Laws

Guide to Massachusetts Marijuana Laws

Massachusetts has had a tumultuous relationship with marijuana since way back in 1911. That’s when the organization known as the New England Society for the Suppression of Vice (or the Watch and Ward Society) was busy battling against drugs and what they called other “special evils.” In April of that year, they successfully petitioned the Massachusetts Legislature to outlaw possession of so-called hypnotic substances including cannabis.

Fast forward to 2016.  Exactly 105 years, 7 months, and 16 days later, marijuana became legal again in Massachusetts. In 2008, voters had decriminalized it, replacing criminal penalties with civil penalties for possession of an ounce or less. In 2012, voters had also approved the legalization of medical marijuana for people suffering from certain conditions or diseases. Then, in November, 2016, the last step was finally taken when Massachusetts became one of the first East Coast states to legalize, regulate, and tax marijuana for recreational use.

On December 15, 2016, The Governor’s Council, a Colonial-era governmental body that verifies election outcomes, formally certified the results of the ballot. The marijuana initiative known as Question 4 officially became law and more than 100 years of marijuana prohibition had ended.

How Massachusetts Got Legal

The century-long battle to make marijuana legal may have ended, but Massachusetts’ acceptance of cannabis seems to remain an uphill battle in some regards.

Marijuana Law Milestones
  • 1911:  New England Society for the Suppression of Vice successfully petitioned the Massachusetts Legislature to outlaw cannabis.
    • This made Massachusetts the first state to formally prohibit marijuana.
  • 1981:  Richard (Dick) Evans, a lawyer in Massachusetts who later became known as Mr. Marijuana, made one of the first public speeches in favor of legalization.
    • He gave the speech at a Beacon Hill hearing but was shouted down by those in attendance.
  • 1989:  The first annual Boston Freedom Rally was held in Boston.
    • The rally is a gathering of people demanding marijuana law reform.
    • It is organized by the Massachusetts Cannabis Reform Coalition.
    • This is the Massachusetts affiliate of the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws, or NORML.
    • The rally became an annual event and grew into the 2nd largest marijuana-related gathering in the country,behind only Seattle’s Hempfest in size
  • 1995:  Boston Freedom Rally moved to its permanent home on the parade field of Boston Common.
  • November 4, 2008:  Marijuana was decriminalized in Massachusetts for possession of an ounce or less.
    • Criminal penalties were replaced with civil penalties.
    • Possession of an ounce or less would result only in a $100 fine.
    • Proponents estimated this would save the state $130 million per year on prosecution costs.
  • November 6, 2012:  63% of Bay State voters approved Question 3 on the ballot.
    • This made medical marijuana legal in Massachusetts.
    • Massachusetts became the 18th state to enact a compassionate MMJ program.
    • Patients could now possess up to a 60-day supply of medical marijuana.
    • Towns attempted to ban dispensaries but the Attorney General ruled against them.
  • October, 2014:  Medical marijuana patients began to apply for ID cards.
    • Registration with the state is mandatory.
    • Unregistered patients are no longer given any protection from being arrested.
  • December 31, 2014:  The Department of Public Health (DPH) allowed the first dispensary to begin cultivating marijuana.
    • This was long after the deadlines set by the legislation had passed.
    • Question 3 had approved up to 35 dispensaries, but only 15 applicants were selected by the DPH in 2014.
  • June 24, 2015:  The first dispensary was allowed to open in Salem, Massachusetts.
  • 2015:  The DPH scrapped its controversial scoring system for dispensary applicants.
    • It began considering applications on a rolling basis instead.
    • More than 150 applicants were being considered by the end of 2015.
  • September, 2016:  The Boston Freedom Rally celebrated its 27th annual gathering
  • November 8, 2016:  Massachusetts’ voters chose to legalize recreational marijuana.
  • December 15, 2016:  Election results were certified and marijuana prohibition ended.
  • September 15, 2017: The deadline for the Cannabis Control Commission to adopt licensing and regulatory procedures.
  • October 1, 2017: The deadline for the commission to begin accepting applications for marijuana business licenses.
  • July 1, 2018: Licensed establishments will be allowed to begin offering recreational marijuana.
The Steps to Legal Sales

Following the passage of Question 4 on November 8, 2016, recreational marijuana was legal, but because no shops can open until 2018, a legal conundrum was created. You are allowed to buy up to an ounce of pot from a dealer, but the dealer is breaking the law by selling it to you until regulations are finalized.

Here’s how things have unfolded so far:

  • November 9, 2016:  The new law mandates that the State Treasurer appoint a 3-person Cannabis Control Commission by March, 2017 to regulate the industry.
    • The Commission has to establish regulations for everything imaginable including:
      • Application requirements and fees
      • Packaging requirements for marijuana-infused foods
      • Minimum standards for marijuana shop employees
    • Their deadline to complete the regulations is September 15, 2017.
  • A Cannabis Advisory Board was also mandated.
    • It will study regulation and provide guidance to the Commission.
  • December 15, 2016:  Purchase, possession, consumption, and transport of 1 ounce or less of marijuana becomes legal for anyone 21 or older.
    • Adults 21 and older can grow up to 6 marijuana plants.
    • There is a maximum of 12 plants per household no matter how many adults live there.
  • Late December, 2016:  With just a few legislators present, the Senate and House passed a bill delaying the opening date of retail marijuana shops from January, 2018 to July, 2018.
    • They defend the decision by saying the law does not adequately protect public health and safety.
  • January 20, 2017:  The Massachusetts legislative session begins.
    • Legislators say they need more time to properly refine Question 4.
    • They introduce 14 bills that could adversely impact implementation by:
      • Placing additional restrictions on home cultivation and personal possession limits
      • Raising the legal age limit from 21 to 25
      • Delaying the sales of marijuana edibles by 2 years
      • Giving local officials power to block marijuana establishments
      • Unnecessarily restructuring the Cannabis Control Commission
  • 2017:  Because of the legislative delay in establishing industry regulations and licensing requirements, it is unknown when applications for licenses can be submitted or what the requirements will be.
    • Some communities begin to apply to the State Attorney General to further delay sales.
  • July 1, 2018:  Licensing for cannabis shops is set to begin.
The National Context

Just how is Massachusetts’ legalization of recreational marijuana seen on a federal level?

  • Legalization of marijuana in Massachusetts is part of a national trend as the Bay State became the 8th state to legalize recreational marijuana.
    • Significantly, they are the first state on the east coast to do so.
    • This strengthens the challenge to the federal government’s ban on marijuana.
  • Those working for drug policy reform say this toehold in the east dramatically boosts the movement’s political clout on a national level.
    • It adds to the pressure on the federal government to allow each state to decide on its own regulations.
    • Massachusetts may lead the way for more east coast states to follow the trend.
    • It also further illustrates the real dysfunction between state and federal legal systems.
      • The feds take tax dollars from marijuana companies.
      • But those same companies have trouble opening bank accounts or accepting credit cards because of the federal ban on marijuana.
  • Since marijuana is illegal at the federal level, selling cannabis at the state level excludes cannabis companies from taking normal business deductions with the IRS.
    • This will remain the case until the federal government alters its current position on marijuana.
  • Tom Angell, Chairman of the drug policy reform group called Marijuana Majority, claims the end of federal marijuana prohibition is now only a matter of time and that policies related to it will be a much bigger issue in Washington, DC.
  • The confirmation of Alabama Senator Jeff Sessions as the Attorney General in February, 2017 created some anxiety among marijuana reform advocates.
    • He can choose to uphold or rescind the U.S. Justice Department’s August, 2013 memo suggesting that U.S. attorneys not prioritize marijuana-related convictions.
  • You can learn more about the current administration’s thoughts on state legalization reading this article.

And how does it fit in with other legalization movements around the country?

  • While states like Nevada have shown an eagerness to enact the will of the voters prior to deadlines, Massachusetts legislators seem intent on delaying program implementation.
  • Government also seems determined to dramatically alter the content of The Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act.
    • No other state where voters have legalized marijuana has sought to significantly change the details of the legislation that was passed.
    • Local government is also aggressively seeking approval to ban marijuana establishments.
      • Other states have seen only a small number of cities and towns push back.
  • What happens in the Massachusetts’ legislature in 2017 and 2018 will have big implications in how other states handle recreational marijuana legalization in the future.
  • With legalization in place now in 8 states and the District of Columbia, the national market for marijuana is projected to reach $22 billion in as little as 4 years (up from $7 billion in 2017).
  • Massachusetts–along with Maine, California, and Nevada–is part of a third wave of states to legalize recreational marijuana. More and more states are expected to place legalization measures on the ballot in the coming elections.

Read all about the current status of marijuana in all the states over at NORML.

The Law in Massachusetts

Personal Use

These are the rules related to recreational marijuana in Massachusetts:

  • Just like alcohol, pot can only be purchased by adults. Currently, you have to be at least 21 years old to buy products from a recreational marijuana store.
    • The rules apply to any adult, even visitors from out of state, as long as they have ID.
    • Visitors to Massachusetts can also possess marijuana and buy it from retail stores once they’re open.
    • If the state legislature has its way in altering the Act, the minimum age will rise to 25.
  • All recreational products must be consumed in Massachusetts.
    • It’s not OK to bring your stash across state lines.
  • The most you can purchase at any one time once stores are open is:
    • One ounce (28 grams) of “usable marijuana”
    • 1/5 of an ounce (5 grams) of “marijuana concentrate”
    • This goes for everyone – Massachusetts residents and visitors alike
  • The most you can possess at any one time is:
    • One ounce (28 grams) on your person
    • Up to 10 ounces in your home
  • If you’re 21 or over, and you do not participate in the medical MJ program, you can grow up to 6 plants at home for personal use.
    • There is a limit of 12 plants per household no matter how many adults reside there.
    • Cultivation has to take place in a discreet area where there is a lock.
      • Plants cannot be visible from the street or any public area.
    • You are not allowed to grow if your landlord has a rule against it.
  • You can share or give 1 ounce or less of marijuana to someone 21 or over as long as no money changes hands.
  • To learn more about Massachusetts laws related to personal use, check out NORML.
A Word About Medical Marijuana

The Massachusetts Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act does not change any of the existing medical marijuana laws or affect patients’ rights in any way, shape, or form. Everything stays the same for a medical marijuana patient in Massachusetts.

  • MMJ patients or their designated caregiver can grow marijuana only if they have a “hardship cultivation registration” from the state.
    • These waivers are granted in most cases when:
      • There are no dispensaries within a reasonable distance
      • The patient is unable to travel to a dispensary
    • Registration with the state is required even with a hardship waiver.
    • Either the patient or caregiver can grow, but both have to apply for the hardship waiver.
  • You can buy up to the amount of marijuana your doctor prescribes for a 60-day supply.
    • But you can only buy this maximum amount every 60 days.
  • Possession limits stay the same and are whatever amount your doctor has prescribed for a 60-day supply.
  • Patients will get their medical marijuana cards just like always.
    • Minors under the age of 18 still need a parent or guardian to sign a release form.
  • Dispensaries will operate like always.
  • The $3.50 per gram marijuana tax that is charged now will continue.
    • That’s in addition to the usual sales tax amounts.
  • When marijuana is purchased, you will be given the same marijuana tax stamps.
    • If caught with marijuana, you have to produce the stamps or face fines or jail.
  • If you currently have a medical marijuana card, it’s a good idea to hang on to it since patients will still have some additional rights including the right to purchase and possess more marijuana at one time.

To learn more about medical marijuana, see our guide to Buying Medical Marijuana, as well as the Health Benefits of Marijuana.

Buying Weed

You’re 21 years old and you want to buy pot in Massachusetts. Where can you get some weed?

  • It’s legal to purchase marijuana in Massachusetts now for personal use, but unless you have a valid medical marijuana card, you can’t buy it until recreational stores actually open.
  • The state is moving very slowly on setting up the program and getting stores open.
    • The legislature has already delayed the deadline by 6 months.
      • The date was moved from January 1, 2018 to July 1, 2018.
  • Until then, someone cultivating pot at home could share up to 1 ounce of bud.
  • No money can change hands, though, since selling pot–even among friends–is illegal until the recreational stores open.
  • Do not think about bringing marijuana into Massachusetts from somewhere else since transporting cannabis across state lines is still a felony.
    • This is the case even if the pot is being brought from a state where marijuana is also legal.
Consumption

Once you’re able to buy pot in a recreational store, where can you smoke it?

  • You are not allowed to smoke or ingest marijuana in public at all in Massachusetts.
    • Not even if you’re a medical marijuana patient
    • Particularly where tobacco smoking is prohibited
  • The safest thing to do is consume it only at home or on private property for now.
  • Make sure you don’t smoke it or consume it:
    • On streets
    • While driving a vehicle
    • In public parks or on public transportation
    • In bars and restaurants
    • On federal land, which includes
      • National parks
      • Federal courthouses or other federal buildings
      • National monuments
      • Military bases
  • If you rent or lease, you’ll need to check with your landlord before lighting up to make sure they approve.
    • They have the right to ban marijuana from their buildings and property.
  • Violating the rules has consequences.
    • If you’re busted smoking marijuana in public, it’s a misdemeanor.
      • Expect a fine of $100
    • The judge can assign community service in addition to or in place of the fine.
What the General Public Thinks

What is the attitude toward marijuana legalization in Massachusetts?

The vote to make recreational marijuana legal in Massachusetts was closer than in other states that legalized it in 2016. The initiative passed with 54% of voters supporting it. And based on the legislature’s immediate reaction when the new session began in January, 2017, the opposition continues to fight by delaying the deadline for licensing stores.

They have proposed bills to:

  • Raise the minimum age for purchase and possession from 21 to 25
  • Reduce the amount of marijuana allowed at home from 10 ounces to 2 ounces
  • Limit the number of plants that can be grown from 12 per household to 6
  • Delay stores in selling edible products or massage oils by at least 2 additional years
  • Permanently ban any marijuana products other than the plant/flower itself
  • Give cities and town government greater power to reject stores without any vote by residents

Here’s how other numbers break down:

  • 70% of Democrats support legalization
  • 58% of unenrolled or unregistered voters support legalization
  • 59% of Republicans oppose it
  • Among voters age 65 and over, 52% oppose legalization
  • 62% of voters ages 55 to 64 support it
  • 56% of voters who are between the ages of 40 and 54 also support legalization
  • A whopping 81% of Bay State residents age 18 – 39 are strongly in favor and think that marijuana should be made legal.
  • And perhaps most surprising, 63% of voters who have children under the age of 18 support legalization.

Police Enforcement

Driving High

Based on Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 90, Section 24, it is illegal for a person to drive while under the influence of marijuana, alcohol, narcotic drugs, or a combination of substances. When alcohol is involved, a blood alcohol level of 0.08% is considered a DUI. When marijuana is involved, however, ANY amount found in the driver’s blood or urine while he or she is driving establishes that the driver was under the influence and will bring about some fairly stiff penalties.

So what is driving high in Massachusetts?

  • There is no consensus in Massachusetts about how much marijuana in the system actually impairs driving as there is in Colorado or Washington.

A person suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol has–simply by virtue of driving in the state–given “implied consent” to provide a breath, blood, or urine sample to police for testing. However, this implied consent law does not require a person suspected of driving under the influence of marijuana to submit to testing. The sample can only be given on a voluntary basis. And there are no penalties for refusing to submit to testing for drugs.

Instead, the simple “use of marijuana while driving” can qualify you for a DUI and arrests can be made based simply on what an officer observes, so it’s smart to stay put if smoking or using pot.

How can an officer stop you?

  • An officer can stop you for another offense, such as speeding, illegal turn, expired tag, etc.
  • Or if they have probable cause that you are driving impaired. This includes:
    • Speeding
    • Swerving
    • Other suspicious driving activity
  • In Massachusetts, police are also allowed to set up sobriety checkpoints but have to follow guidelines:
    • They must announce the county and day where the checkpoint will occur in advance
    • They must check a set number of cars–for example every 4th car–and not deviate from that number

What happens when they stop you?

  • They will ask some questions, observe your behavior, and probably have you take a preliminary breath test.
  • If you pass the breath test–meaning no alcohol is detected–then they’ll conduct field sobriety tests to determine your level of impairment. The test can be:
    • Walk the Line Test–you’ll be asked to walk in a straight line and the officer will watch for lack of balance, inability to stay on a straight line, or breaks in walking.
    • One Leg Stand Test–you will be asked to raise your foot, be still, count and look down and the officer will watch for swaying, hopping, or putting your foot down.
  • They’ll also look for:
    • Dilated pupils
    • The smell of pot
    • Eyelid or body tremors
    • Especially relaxed and uninhibited behavior
    • Short-term memory problems
  • If you fail the field sobriety tests, the officer can arrest you but they cannot perform a blood or urine test to determine drug content without your consent.
  • A determination of impairment is made on a case-by-case basis in front of a judge.
    • If you’re convicted, penalties range from fines and license suspension to jail time.
  • Be aware that open containers or partially consumed packages of marijuana cannot be kept in a motor vehicle, except in the trunk or a locked glove compartment.

Penalties for a first offense, which is usually a misdemeanor, can include:

  • Up to 30 months of house arrest
  • A fine of between $500 and $1,000
  • License suspension of up to one year
  • The judge has the power to alternately order:
    • Participation in a drug and alcohol treatment program
    • Between 45-90 days of license suspension
  • If there was a minor in the car when your marijuana DUI occurred, you will face additional penalties.

Learn more about the laws and penalties for drugged driving in Massachusetts from NORML.

Other Legal Information

Public intoxication:

  • Unlike some other states, Massachusetts treats public intoxication as a social ill but not a crime.
  • A police officer may assist an intoxicated person–with or without consent:
    • To the person’s home, a healthcare facility, or the police station for protective custody
    • Protective custody is not considered an arrest
    • A person can be kept at a police station only if a suitable healthcare facility is not available
    • They will be kept until the person sobers up or a maximum of 12 hours, whichever is shorter
  • There are 2 potential defenses if a police officer attempts to take you into custody.
    • You can argue that you are not intoxicated.
      • You will have to take and pass a breathalyzer or other sobriety test.
    • You can show that you were in a private place instead of a public place.

Possession of more than 1 ounce of marijuana or 1/5 of an ounce of concentrates in public:

  • Is a misdemeanor on the first offense with:
    • A $500 fine
    • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Is also a misdemeanor on subsequent offenses but:
    • There is a $2,000 fine
    • And up to 2 years in jail
  • Massachusetts does allow conditional release for people facing their first prosecutions.
    • This allows a person to opt for probation rather than trial.
    • After successfully completing probation, the person’s criminal record would not reflect the charge.

Sale, delivery, or possession with intent to distribute:

  • For an amount that’s more than an ounce but less than 50 pounds as a first offense:
    • It is not yet classified as a misdemeanor or felony.
    • You’ll pay a $5,000 fine.
    • You may serve no jail time or up to 2 years.
    • Subsequent offenses will result in:
      • A $10,000 fine
      • 1 – 2.5 years in jail
  • The penalties for larger amounts depend on how much marijuana we’re talking about.
    • 50 to 100 pounds–a felony with 1 to 15 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
      • The 1 year in jail is a mandatory minimum.
    • 100 to 2,000 pounds–a felony with 2 to 15 years in jail and a $25,000 fine.
      • The 2 years in jail is a mandatory minimum.
    • If you possess more than 2,000 pounds with intent to distribute, you’re going to get old in prison and give up most of your money.
      • The mandatory minimum is 3.5 years.
    • And if you possess any amount with intent to sell, deliver, or distribute to a minor, you can count on additional penalties.
    • Special note…mandatory minimum sentences are no joke.
      • The judge in the case has no power to sentence a person to LESS time than the mandatory minimum.

Cultivation:

Massachusetts has a little work to do in regard to how to handle cultivation of more than the maximum number of plants.

  • They say there is no penalty and no fine for having up to 6 plants per adult (or 12 per household)
  • But they do not yet define penalties for having more than 6 plants.
    • Most legal experts believe the state will view more than 6 plants as intent to distribute and will apply penalties accordingly.

Paraphernalia:

  • If you’re over the age of 21, you can purchase, possess, sell, or use drug paraphernalia with no penalties.
  • But if you sell, deliver to, or distribute it to a minor, it is a felony in Massachusetts with penalties that are stiff:
    • 3 to 5 years in prison
    • A fine of $5,000

City and municipal laws:

Massachusetts law allows local governments to have fairly significant power related to the sale of marijuana.

  • They can submit initiative measures to the Attorney General questioning the sale of marijuana on certain premises.
  • They can adopt the following types of ordinances or bylaws:
    • Ordinances governing the time, place, and manner of operation of a marijuana establishment.
    • Ordinances limiting the number of marijuana establishments in a city or town.
    • Certain types of ordinances in this category would require a vote by citizens of the town.
    • Ordinances restricting the licensed cultivation, processing, and manufacturer of marijuana if it is considered a “public nuisance.”
    • Ordinances addressing standards for public signs related to marijuana establishments.
    • Ordinances establishing consequences for violating marijuana-related ordinances.
  • Local municipalities were also given the option of adding another 2 percent tax to marijuana sales.
  • They are not allowed to regulate anything related to possession or consumption.

Learn more about Massachusetts’ laws and penalties through NORML.

Going into Business

Going into the marijuana business in Massachusetts might be less appealing than it is in other states. The legislature seems determined to delay implementation of the law and tinker with its content. But even though they have a lot to iron out related to marijuana businesses, opening one might still be worth considering if you don’t mind waiting a while.

Licenses

Because of the legislative delay in establishing industry regulations, the details related to application requirements and exactly when they can be submitted are uncertain. But here’s what we know so far.

  • The Cannabis Control Commission has a current deadline of September 15, 2017 to adopt licensing and regulatory procedures.
  • The current date on which the Commission will begin accepting applications for licenses is October 1, 2017.
  • The first applications accepted will be from current owners of marijuana dispensaries.
    • If you don’t already operate a marijuana dispensary, it will be October, 2018 before the Commission will accept applications from you.
  • Licenses will be required to:
    • Cultivate marijuana
    • Manufacture marijuana-related paraphernalia
    • Operate a testing facility
    • Engage in retail sales
  • No more than 75 of each type of license will be issued initially.
  • On future licenses above the initial 75, applicants who meet the requirements and submitted their application on the earliest dates would be given priority.
    • Then all licenses would be issued by lottery.

It is not yet clear whether the Commission will limit the number and type of recreational marijuana business licenses an owner can have but it appears, early on, that they will be allowing multiple types in any combination.

Be aware that local governments could also require licenses and, if this is the case where you live, a state license may not be obtainable until all local licenses are in place.

How to Acquire a License

The state should begin accepting recreational license applications from existing marijuana businesses in October, 2017. But if you don’t currently operate a licensed medical marijuana business, the earliest you will be able to apply for a license to open a brand-new business is October, 2018.

Who Can Apply for a License

To apply for a recreational marijuana business license prior to October, 2018:

  • You must own/operate a licensed marijuana facility currently
  • You must still be in compliance with all requirements for your current license

The details of what is required when the general public is allowed to apply for a recreational marijuana business license are not yet clear, but we do know:

  • You must be a legal resident of the State of Massachusetts
  • You cannot have a prior conviction of certain felonies

There will be a fee for submitting your application for a license and then a fee for the license itself, but the Commission has not yet established the amounts. The ballot question did cap license fees at $15,000 for stores, manufacturers and cultivators, however.

Taxes

How will recreational marijuana be taxed in Massachusetts?

  • When recreational stores open for business, all cannabis sales will be taxed at whatever current state and local sales tax rates are already in place.
  • An additional 3.75% excise tax will be charged.
  • Cities and towns are given the option of adding another 2% local tax.

Where will the tax dollars go?

Tax dollars, licensing fees, and penalties will be deposited in the Marijuana Regulation Fund. Exactly how dollars in the Fund will be distributed has not yet been established by the Commission. We do know that a large portion of them will pay for the regulation and oversight of the industry.

Growing Pot

  • The Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act allows adults 21 and over in Massachusetts to grow marijuana for their personal use.
  • Adults who do not participate in the medical marijuana program can grow up to 6 plants at home.
    • There is a limit of 12 plants per household no matter how many adults reside there
    • Cultivation has to take place in a discreet area where there is a lock
    • Plants cannot be visible from the street or any public area
  • If you end up with more marijuana than you can use, you can give away up to an ounce to someone 21 or older but no money can change hands.
  • Property owners can ban the cultivation of marijuana on their properties–meaning your landlord can decide that plants cannot be grown on their property, i.e., in your apartment.
  • Medical marijuana patients or their designated caregiver can only grow marijuana if they have a “hardship cultivation registration” from the state.
    • With a hardship registration, the number of plants sufficient to maintain 10 ounces or a 60-day supply can be grown.
    • The grow site’s description and addressed has to be registered with the state.

To learn more about the laws related to growing marijuana in Massachusetts:

Related Resources